The tidal pool swirls
Gently pulling beach sand
In strands around my ankles
That glitter as the sun
Reflects off the water

Wading in the shallows
Lost in thought
My eyes drift
To the open sea
The expanse overwhelms

Gull cries echo out
Beckoning me
To leave the beach
To swim to the horizon
To lose myself in grandeur

What creatures live there
In the murky depths?
What undiscovered country
Might lay waiting
On the other side?

The golden strands
Fall to rest
Sinking my feet
Into the sand
Grounding me

I can no more
Live in the shallows
Than live in the sea
So I return again
To the beach

— B.

Leave a Reply

