You can’t reinvent the wheel

But I’ll sure as hell try

The modes of transportation

That have brought me to this place

The unreliable rusty ideas

That break down and fall apart

At the slightest provocation

Sit at the side of the road now

I stand alongside them

Wondering how I got here

The fuel that stoked my flame

That once burned so bright

Is muddy and filled with grit

I can’t make it clean again

My feet carry me across

The burning desert sand

I shout at the empty sky

Cursing the salesman

Who sold me on deceit

Who made me a part

Of the unforgiving machine

You can’t reinvent the wheel

But I’ll sure as hell try

Until then I’ll learn to stand

On my own two feet

— B.

Leave a Reply

