Illusion in Memory

Everything is still in the gray morning

Dust hangs in the humid air

Clings to the bedsheets where I lay

Half in a dream that cannot exist

In the full light of day


The gentle weight of memory holds me

As I recall the minute details that shined

Before dissolving and fading away

Half in a dream that cannot exist

In the full light of day


My breathing is shallow as I try to slip back

I can still feel your arms around me

Telling me I’m safe, asking me to stay

Half in a dream that cannot exist

In the full light of day


Pulling me closer to your chest

Imagining the kiss that will never be

I fight to keep the tears at bay

Half in a dream that cannot exist

In the full light of day


— B.

One thought on “Illusion in Memory

Leave a Reply

