After breathing in cleaning fumes for the last few hours, I finally have a new poem for you. Tomorrow, I say goodbye to the place that has been my home for the last 6 months, a place filled with memories. As I start this new chapter in my life, I find myself letting go of some of my past experiences and holding on to the happy memories for as long as I can. One can’t live in the past, of course, but through reflection I hope to learn and grow. Thank you for reading and embarking on this journey with me.

Slideshow


If I could trace my way back to you

Who would I find waiting for me?

The dreamer, filled with hope

The pragmatist, searching for answers

The defeatist, brought down by hardship

The one I fell for, who embodies all this


If you could trace your way back to me

Who would you find waiting for you?

The artist, enamored with life

The writer, stressing over details

The fatalist, unable to escape her origins

The one you fell for, who embodies all this


If we could rewind this reel

Would the pictures on the wall

Scream out our names?

Would we recognize ourselves

Through the dust covered frames?

Or are these memories

Just another slideshow?


Trying to retrace our steps

We close our eyes and watch

As the afterimages dance

And dissolve into black

We fumble towards the future

Feeling our way in the dark

Until our eyes learn to adjust


— B.

Leave a Reply

