The rain is pouring down tonight, a natural staccato beat to accompany my music practice. I grew up singing in school and church choirs and have since tried to keep it up, more for my emotional well-being and personal enjoyment than anything else. However, I was never terribly great at learning musical instruments. A few years ago, I decided on a whim to try to teach myself the ukulele so I could play and sing along with it. Again, I’m a slow learner when it comes to this sort of thing, but I feel that it’s good to challenge myself once in a while and have found the practice to be a great stress reliever.

ukulele
My little blue ukulele

Maybe one day I’ll get around to taking lessons and even learn how to write music for some of my poems, since I already make up melodies and sing them to myself when I’m home alone or driving around town. For now, I continue to sing covers and draw inspiration from the songwriters I know and love. Joni Mitchell and Rufus Wainwright play in the back of my mind on a regular basis, and I’ve recently gotten lost in some of the tracks and music videos from Florence + the Machine. Tonight, I started watching her epic film “The Odyssey” and have been blown away by the intensity of her vocals, lyrics, and the visual storytelling of the video itself. While I can’t compete with the likes of such musical giants, I’ll keep listening to the rain and imagining my “lyrics” being put to music one day. Here is one such poem that I’d like to repurpose in the future:

Hollow

Wake me in the morning
to suck the marrow from my bones.
You had a taste last night,
now you threaten to swallow me whole.

What is there left for me to feed on?
Broken promises fill my plate.
As I lay here, faint and hollow,
empty words cannot satiate.

We are creatures of hunger, you and I,
seeking the next piece of flesh.
Longing for another bite,
we are human appetite manifest.

— B.

Leave a Reply

